PDA

View Full Version : Socket_connect



hcrisp
11-18-2011, 12:35 PM
Did the SOCKET_CONNECT routine stop working for public websites? I tried following the documented example, and it does not work.



connection=SOCKET_CONNECT('www.vni.com', 80)
info, connection
; CONNECTION LONG = -2
; -2 = Could not connect to socket.

rwagner
11-21-2011, 04:53 PM
Did the SOCKET_CONNECT routine stop working for public websites? I tried following the documented example, and it does not work.



connection=SOCKET_CONNECT('www.vni.com', 80)
info, connection
; CONNECTION LONG = -2
; -2 = Could not connect to socket.



This is more of an issue with the fact that www.vni.com is now redirecting to www.roguewave.com than socket_connect issues. www.google.com works fine for me.
-Ryan

hcrisp
11-22-2011, 09:01 AM
I cannot connect to www.google.com either. It might be a firewall issue for me. I can connect to intranet sites just fine, just not the internet. My browser and VBA do not have this problem.

rwagner
11-22-2011, 09:40 AM
I cannot connect to www.google.com (http://www.google.com) either. It might be a firewall issue for me. I can connect to intranet sites just fine, just not the internet. My browser and VBA do not have this problem.

Agreed, this sounds like a firewall issue.