PDA

View Full Version : Help with opening a file that's space delimited

VictorVictor5
06-07-2013, 06:53 AM
Greetings all,

I am very new at PV-Wave, and I was going to see if anyone out there can help my opening a file that's space delimited and has columns. I originally created it in Excel but was told to make it space delimited and save as a .dat file. The file is attached as a .txt since .dat isn't allowed.

Any suggestions would me appreciated - I've tried DC_READ_FREE so far without any luck, with the following (again I am very new and still learning so please go easy with me):

blank = ' '
zero=0.0d0
izero=0
Date = REPLICATE({!DT},3)
Distance = izero
WestReading = zero
WestDifference = zero
EastReading = zero
EastDifference = zero
Uncertainty = zero
Leg = izero
snow = blank
freeboard = izero
icedepth = izero
LocalTime = zero

status = DC_READ_FREE('FileforForums.dat', Date, $
Distance, WestReading, WestDifference, EastReading, EastDifference, $
Uncertainty, Leg, snow, freboard, icedepth, LocalTime, /Column, Delim = [' '],$
Dt_Template=[1,-1])

FOR I = 0,12 DO BEGIN
PRINT, Date(I), Distance(I)

ENDFOR

Thanks!
VV5

donb
06-10-2013, 02:59 PM
Hello VV5, and welcome to PV-WAVE!!

The DC (Data Connection) routines are designed to read such files, and provide a LOT of flexibility.

The first thing I noticed is you have 12 variables in the file and only 11 columns of data; in somewhat a random fashion I removed 'icedepth' from the list of variable names in your DC_READ_FREE example. Also, Ive changed the Dt_Template date option from 1 to 4 format 4 is for dd-mmm-yy which is the date format used in your data file; the time format (-1) is correct.