PDA

View Full Version : plot wind profiler data

aarchibald
03-17-2008, 05:09 AM
Dear readers,

I am a real newbie to using Wave. I bought a studet license to have a play with but have never really got round to using it much, hence this may be a very silly question.

I have data from a wind profiler that is sorted into 3 columns, time, altitude and variablex. I Just want to simply plot this data with a flat projection so that time is along the x-axis altitude the y-axis and a gardient of colour is used to represent the intensity of variablex.

I have managed to do this with gnuplot but I dont like the output much and wondered if any body would be kind enough to make a suggestion on how to do this in wave.

I have attached the data file if that helps.

kind regards,

alex

rwagner
03-17-2008, 09:34 AM
Hi,
I can't seem to download the file. Can you email it to support?

support@vni.com

Thanks,
Ryan

aarchibald
03-17-2008, 09:56 AM
Sure, sorry here is the data file

rwagner
03-17-2008, 01:58 PM
pro aber

;Change this line if your data file changes
n_rows = 234
t1 = strarr(n_rows)
t2 = strarr(n_rows)
elev = dblarr(n_rows)
varx1 = dblarr(n_rows)
varx2 = dblarr(n_rows)
varx3 = dblarr(n_rows)
varx4 = dblarr(n_rows)
varx5 = dblarr(n_rows)
varx6 = dblarr(n_rows)

s = dc_read_free('aber-time-data-samp.txt', t1, t2, elev, varx1, varx2, varx3, varx4, varx5, varx6, /column, delim=[':',' '])
time = 60*long(t1) + long(t2)
x = UNIQUE(time)
y = UNIQUE(elev)

;To change which variable we're looking at, simply change varx1 to varxn in the following command.
z = REFORM(varx1, n_elements(x), n_elements(y))
;Load a red color table for shading
loadct, 3

;The shades keyword allows for shading by intensities of the data (varx)
SHADE_SURF, z,x,y, shades=bytscl(z), ax=34, az=47, ytitle = 'Elevation', xtitle = 'Time(s)'