PDA

View Full Version : wave.exe switches



hcrisp
10-23-2008, 04:49 PM
Are there any documented or undocumented switches to wave.exe? I am interested in loading wave.exe in a quiet mode where all the initialization text ("PV-WAVE v8.00, Your current interactive graphics device" blah, blah) is suppressed. I know about "wave.exe -r %file.pro%'. Can someone help me out here?

Thanks,
hcrisp

rwagner
10-23-2008, 09:12 PM
Hi hcrisp,
There is, to the best of my knowledge, no "quiet" flag to wave.exe that will just give you the prompt. If you are asking about running in development mode in the wave console, try adding the following line to your wave_startup file:

$cls

or it's unix equivalent:

$clear

Also, you can remove the printing of the message of the day in the wave_startup file.

While this isn't much of a workaround, I hope it helps!
-Ryan

allan
10-24-2008, 08:58 AM
in addition to using your own wave_startup file, you can
eliminate other startup messages by setting the
environment variable WAVE_MSG to 'no';

the environment variable WAVE_STARTUP can be used to
set the path to your own startup file; on xp i use a startup
that looks like:

!prompt = !version.release + '> '
defsysv, '!data_dir', getenv(strupcase('wave_dir'))+'/data/'
cd, "c:\documents and settings\...\desktop"

this eliminates many startup messages, sets the prompt
to the version number, and sets the current working
directory to the desktop;

allan

hcrisp
10-28-2008, 10:01 AM
The $cls command was a good tip, but you can't use it programmatically in a .pro file. I suggest the following to clear the screen inside a .pro routine:

SPAWN, 'cls'