PDA

View Full Version : The file libimsl.a

BobSoftwareGuy
01-30-2009, 01:01 PM
I am porting some old C code (which uses routines from the library libimsl.a) from Solaris to Linux. I am new to Visual Numerics' Software. The company I work at, has a version of Visual Numerics for Linux, but it does not have a version of the file libimsl.a. I am thinking that they either have a different version of the product, or there version is incomplete. I am also getting errors from the linker stating that the following symbols are undefined:
iercd_, dcsdec_, dcssmh_, dcsval_, dcscon_, dcsakm_

Please comment.

Thanks
Bob

brian
01-30-2009, 02:02 PM
Hello Bob,

The following all sound like IMSL Fortran Numerical Libraries symbols: iercd_, dcsdec_, dcssmh_, dcsval_, dcscon_, dcsakm_ and libimsl.a a static IMSL Fortran library. If you are in fact calling the Fortran libraries from C code I recommend your review the technical notes covering this subject.

Calling the IMSL? Fortran Library from C
IMSL Technical Report P10377 (http://www.vni.com/tech/imsl/P10377.pdf)

Regards,

brian

BobSoftwareGuy
01-30-2009, 02:34 PM
Brian,

Thanks for the response. I read the paper you suggested. It implies that I need to be using the Intel Fortran Compiler. I am not. Do I need to? Also, when I now link I get the following symbols undefined:
for_concat
for_check_mult_overflow
for_alloc_allocatable
for_deallocate
for_check_mult_overflow

I am thinking that I need to be linking with the library that came with Intel's Fortran compiler, which I do not have. Please comment.

Thanks
Bob

brian
02-01-2009, 04:33 PM
Hello Bob,

You will need a Fortran compiler to create FORTRAN wrappers for those IMSL routines that do not have F77 interfaces;