PDA

View Full Version : Breakpoint behavior



hcrisp
02-05-2009, 12:58 PM
Okay, another puzzler for you all.

I am trying to use the BREAKPOINT command. On my computer, it works fine. On my colleague's it also works. The only thing is, if you compile the same file after adding a breakpoint, our computers behave differently. Mine clears the breakpoint, my colleague's does not. For example, if we type:



WAVE> breakpoint, 'myfile.pro', 18
WAVE> .run myfile.pro
WAVE> info, /breakpoint


My session replies:


%%%Compiled module: MYFILE.
%%%Recompilation of MYFILE caused a breakpoint to be removed.
No Breakpoints.


My colleague's replies:


%%%Compiled module: MYFILE.
Breakpoints:
Index Module Line File
0 MYFILE: 18 C:\myfolder\myfile.pro


It appears we are running the exact same files on the exact same WAVE version (8.00). Can anyone explain this bizarre behavior?

donb
02-05-2009, 07:01 PM
Hello hcrisp,

This is indeed a puzzler! I've tested your example on the following:

v9.01e - XP, Linux and OpenVMS
v8.00c - Solaris

and in every case I see the same results as your colleague.

We see you're using PV-WAVE v8.00. Can you tell us what platform/OS you're using?

Cheers, Don B.

hcrisp
02-06-2009, 07:43 AM
I am using 32-bit Windows XP.

BREAKPOINT is a compiled routine, so I can't open the .pro file. If you have access to the source code, can you check to see which behavior (mine or my colleague's) is correct? What causes the "Recompilation of MYFILE caused a breakpoint to be removed" statement to be printed?

Thanks

hcrisp
02-06-2009, 09:10 AM
One thing to note is that my colleague's session doesn't treat all files consistently. For some files it removes the breakpoint, for others it doesn't.

Our best explanation is that it depends on whether the file is in the working directory or not. Suppose you have two folders in your WAVE path:


C:/myworkingpath
C:/myotherpath


You have these two files:


C:/myworkingpath/pro1.pro
C:/myotherpath/pro2.pro


This doesn't work:


; start in C:/myworkingpath
WAVE> .run pro1.pro
WAVE> breakpoint, 'pro1.pro', 12
WAVE> .run pro1.pro
; doesn't remove the breakpoint


This works:


; start in C:/myworkingpath
WAVE> cd, 'C:/myotherpath'
WAVE> .run pro2.pro
WAVE> breakpoint, 'pro2.pro', 12
WAVE> cd, 'C:/myworkingpath'
WAVE> .run pro2.pro
; removes the breakpoint!


So ... can BREAKPOINT be changed to remove the breakpoint in both cases?