Thread: IMSL compatibility with Visual Studio and Intel Parallel Studio

IMSL compatibility with Visual Studio and Intel Parallel Studio

Hello everyone,

I have just activated and installed my new student version of IMSL for Fortran. I would like to use the libraries within existing models that I used to run perfectly in the past with Intel Composer using Visual Studio as IDE.

Since this is my first time that I use IMSL which were not directly included into a Intel Composer package, I am struggling to find the appropriate combination of VS-Intel Parallel Studio versions. In particular, I am able to compile correctly codes that do not make use of IMSL routines using VS Community 2017 and Intel Parallel Studio 2019 Update 1 Cluster Edition. However, with the same combination, other codes which use IMSL calls report the error:

error #7881: This module file was generated for a different platform or by an incompatible compiler or compiler release. It cannot be read.
    On the other hand, if I use Intel Parallel Studio 2017, the following occurs:

error #7002: Error in opening the compiled module file. Check INCLUDE paths.
    Prior compiling these projects I had set up the correct env. variables in VS for both libraries and include directories.

Also, if I try to build the examples in the IMSL installation directory, e.g., eiat, the libraries can't be found and the error, "ifort" is not recognised. So my question is: since I used to compile correctly the same code when I used to have an Intel Composer with included the IMSL, is there a specific combination of version of VS and Intel Parallel Studio that I should use to be compatible with my version of IMSL.

Any help is appreciated.

Thank you in advance.
    Luca