Thread: UMACH not working anymore?

UMACH not working anymore?

Hi,

I've been using IMSL since 2002 with the Compaq Fortran compiler. I recently purchased the Intel 11.1 compiler bundled with IMSL. I managed to recompiled my code, but the UMACH() function doesn't seem to work anymore.
    I use to redirect the cluster analysis into a UNIT=12 Fortran file, BUT setting UMACH(-2,12) doesn't seem to do this anymore. THis use to work fine. What's strange is that the IMSL output decides to open its own fort.12 file, even though a file opened with UNIT=12 already exists. Here's part of the code below. What is wrong?

<..SNIP..>
    !C Open file for subsequent output for later
    INQUIRE(FILE='CLUSTER.TXT',EXIST=THERE)
    IF (THERE) THEN
    OPEN(UNIT=12,FILE='CLUSTER.TXT',STATUS='UNKNOWN')
    CLOSE(UNIT=12,STATUS='DELETE')
    END IF
    OPEN (UNIT=12,FILE='CLUSTER.TXT',STATUS='NEW')
    #ifdef MYIMSL
    !
    LL=-2
    CALL UMACH(-2,12) ! redirect IMSL output into cluster.txt file... !IMSL
    #endif
    write(12,*) ' '
    write(12,*)'************************************** **************************************'
    write(12,*)'>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> START OF CLUSTER ANALYSIS <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<'
    write(12,*)'************************************** **************************************'
    write(12,*) ' '
    <..SNIP..>

Re: UMACH not working?

The version of IMSL that accompanied CVF provided only static libraries. Current versions of IMSL provide both static and dynamic libraries.

You are probably running into the problems that you described because you are using (by choice or by default, depending on your setup) the DLL libraries. The associations between Fortran I/O unit numbers and files are not shared between your code and the IMSL DLLs.